Living life in the carpool lane..

Epi-do? Epi-don’t?

Posted on: August 16, 2011

Last week on my Facebook page, I brought up the question of Epidurals..

Most people I have come across have sworn by their epidurals.. and I also know people that didn’t have one at all..

The main point they all said was that it was ultimately up to me to decide.. which is true.

It really is up to me..

I’m really scared of the epidural procedure.. I’ve seen it done on video several times and it still freaks me out.  They stick something in your spine!!!  How is that not scary?!

I know that it will be numbed and all I will probably feel is the pressure of it all, but it still scares me.  There is always that small percentage of bad luck and something permanetly damaging could occur.. OR I could be allergic to the anesthesia in an epidural.. OR it won’t work at all.. OR something might happen to the baby..

So many “what if something bad happens” scenarios pop into my head when I think about an epidural..

However, I also know that I am no hero when it comes to pain management.. I’m probably the biggest wuss I know!

I don’t do stomach aches well.. nor do I do menstrual cramps well.. how would I handle labor contractions!!?!

Our Childbirth prep instructor gave us a little exercise.  She gave us a bag of ice cubes to hold in our hand for sixty seconds.  During that sixty seconds, we were supposed to work on our breathing, focusing, and pain management techniques that she gave during the course. 

I can barely hold a bag of ice for sixty seconds.. I finished that excerise telling hubby “I think I need an epidural.”

I really want to see how far I can go.. and then push it just a little longer.. I want the most natural birth I can provide for my child.. I don’t want to add any sort of painkillers into the mix if I really don’t have to.  I want her to come out with minimal effects from anything outside of my control..

I want to keep that in mind as I writhe in the pain of my contractions..

So I decided that I will decide when I am in labor whether or not I can handle the pain.. maybe just take it one contraction at a time.. and focus on my little one as much as possible. 

If I don’t use any medications, that would be great.  But I have to promise myself I won’t feel like a failure if I give in and ask for something..

I’m constantly mentally preparing myself for the task ahead of me.. and I pray that I can endure.  I just can’t wait to hold our little one.. and let the parenting adventure really begin!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
