Living life in the carpool lane..

It’s all in the plan..

Posted on: August 9, 2011

Hubby and I have been busy, busy taking classes and doing hospital tours..

It was mentioned that we should start looking into our birth plan..

A birth plan?  I always just thought I would show up and do whatever I needed to do to get the baby out.. no plan needed.. just get the job done!

But I went on the hospital website and looked at the options that they provide when filling up the birth plan, and they help make pretty valid decisions.. like how many people you will allow in your room, who you want to cut the umbilical cord, if you want your son circumsized (just in case our baby ends up a boy, I totally filled this out!).

Some of the options made me laugh.. it asked things like if I wanted to feel the baby crowning out of me, if I wanted to actually pull the baby out of me, if I wanted a mirror down there so I could see all the action..

Those options are probably beautiful for some people, but for me.. that’s kinda gross.. haha..

I’ll leave it up to the professionals to deal with all the goings-on “down there.”  I will just do them a favor and concentrate on what I need to do on my end..

Pain management was one of the topics there.. and I chose the option to “decide when I’m in labor.”  Yes, it was an actual option on the sheet.

Pain management and my epidural dilemma is a whole other blog posting.. I’m still trying to find the words to describe what’s in my head about it all.. and when I do.. you know where you can read it..

So I filled out my birth plan.. I really don’t ask much.. I just want what’s best for this little diva’s debut..

I know that when it comes to labor, NOTHING will really go according to plan.  I should know since I just planned a wedding last year.. and with weddings, you have to expect it to not go as planned… but filling out a birth plan doesn’t hurt.. at least it’s a guideline for the doctors and nurses to know what I kind of want out of this whole experience..

Mommies, did you fill out a birth plan?  Most importantly, did those plans actually come to fruition?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,576 hits
August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
