Living life in the carpool lane..

Getting school’d…

Posted on: June 28, 2011

Yesterday I was on the phone for about a half an hour with the hospital’s education department setting the hubby and up for various classes and tours..

I signed up for a tour of our Labor and Delivery facility, a Baby Basics care class, Infant CPR, and our Lamaze class..

We’re going  to be running around a lot in July and August.. it’s gonna be pretty crazy..

Scheduling these classes set the reality that our baby is really going to come soon.. it’s a lot of preparation.. a lot..

This past weekend, hubby and I finally drove down to the hospital where the Labor & Delivery is located.  I told the hubby we needed to drive it at least once a month from now til the baby is born so we get an idea of how to get there and it becomes second nature without having to use his Google Maps app on his phone. 

Hubby thinks I’m “over-preparing.”  But is there really a chance of “over-preparing” when dealing with childbirth?  Hmm..  I don’t know.. but I don’t think so..

I’ve dealt with so many babies in the past 10+years.  Once my cousins started having babies, I was there experiencing a lot of it with them.  I feel like I know how to do a lot of the baby care, but at the same time, I think it will be a little different when it’s my own kid.  The techniques are the same, but I think I will be a little more nervous knowing this is my own child.  A Baby Basics class will allow me to learn about the things a parent does that I didn’t experience with my cousin’s kids..

I’m sure these classes are going to help relieve some of my nerves about taking care of our baby.. I’m sure hubby and I will do fine.. but I can’t help but feel the fears of the unknown..

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,490 hits
June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
