Living life in the carpool lane..

Things I love about being home..

Posted on: November 24, 2010

Last week I was with the hubby all week.. we were playing “house” while we were also looking for a place to live..

I went back home this week.. and I gotta say.. life is sooo much easier at home with mommy and daddy..

For one.. I don’t HAVE to cook..

At home.. Mommy will either cook something.. or we just go out and buy something.. and if I do cook.. it’s cuz I WANT to.. and not HAVE to.. big difference..

Another.. thing is that I’m a lot more comfortable in my own home.. and that’s totally a given.. you’re always more comfortable in your home.. so.. that’s really nothing to make a big deal about.. and I know that once Joe and I find a place to live.. I’ll be comfortable there too.. it’s just that.. it’s wierd to me.. I don’t know..

I love having Mom and Dad around.. it’s a security blanket for me.. I’ve never lived on my own.. I’ve always lived with them.. knowing they are just a room away is still comforting.. I know.. I’m 30.. but still.. it’s not like my parents and I have a bad relationship.. and I’m not saying that I don’t wanna be independent.. I just have mixed feelings about it all..

And we all know that we do eventually grow up and leave the comforts of home.. so I shouldn’t be hesitant to leave.. but like I said.. it’s so comfortable being at home.. it’s scary to venture off on your own.. but knowing that I have Joe with me is reassuring.. he’s there to go along with the ride.. it’s all part of the adventure..

The thought that I am actually married still hasn’t sunken in.. Joe and I tell each other all the time that we are married.. we call each other ‘hubby’ and ‘wifey.’  But.. being “married” isn’t a concept to me yet..

I think it’s because we still live apart.. and we are still a commuter-couple.. we know we are married.. but nothing’s really changed yet..

It’s that initial first-step to independence.. it’s that initial snip of the virtual umbilical cord.. it’s scary to me.. the unknown has always been scary to me.. but it’s always something that I seek..

All I gotta do is take that first step.. make that first effort to “be married.” 

I AM married.. but I haven’t had the chance to “BE” married.. you know what I mean? 

It’s complicated.. and I’m probably rambling.. but I think that some of you may understand what I mean.. right?

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin
Follow on Bloglovin

Blog Stats

  • 25,491 hits
November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
